Running Out Of Saliva

It’s been quite a while since I last reported or delivered a speech in front of the class, especially now that I am in college, a time when oral reporting is seldom or perhaps, never used by students anymore. Acetates have already replaced the good old manila papers and cartolinas as visual aids, and photocopied handouts served as life-savers of a lot of crammers, who were not able to do what they were supposed to; thus getting away with the major task of speaking and elaborating their reports in class.

Just recently, I had to do it again.

After the long two day vacation that I have already wasted used up, I started the day with an early time-in at school. I rarely come to school on time, but I had to be motivated for the day. The reason behind it? Reporting. Thirty minutes would suffice for the time that I need in preparing my part in the report, which consisted of only less than twenty sentences. I just read every word in the outline and added a little bit of information, and I’m done. Luckily I wasn’t asked a lot of questions. My next task was somewhat easier, as we had more time to prepare and we [our group in the class] were lucky enough to get a rather easy reporting job. I still did the usual thing, and again managed to pull it off.

But personally, I do not like oral reportings, or public speaking in that matter. I am just not fit for speaking in front of many people, for when I speak, I always get nervous. Unfortunately, most of the time it is obvious to everyone, and whatever I do to hide it has no use at all. From the first word that comes out of my mouth, my voice would gradually grumble, reducing its clarity. That is not a good sign of an effective speech, as Comm3 and other language subjects taught me over the years. Aside from that, I do not trust what I say in impromptu speeches, as I always take time to think before saying anything. Even jokes are of no exemption. That is why I choose to write about my thoughts instead of telling it to someone else, especially in front of the masses. I just let the readers be.

As for listening, boredom strikes me whenever I hear someone report, not unless I am deeply interested either in the subject or the speaker. The environment just doesn’t allow me to listen. You know I easily get distracted by anything else, such as a very thrilled seat mate telling a new issue about someone/something, which happens to be more interesting than what is being discussed by the speaker. Though this definitely does not show respect to whoever is speaking, I got used to it over time. I just try to lessen the guilt by pretending to pay attention at times. One last reason is that it is also inevitable when I (or even you) am in the shoes of the speaker.

Well so much for exposing my flaws in speaking (and listening), the day ended with my mouth craving for a glass of water or even a can of soft drink. Though I almost ran out of saliva, fortunately the reports went out fairly smooth. That is enough to compensate my efforts, at least. Tiring it may be, still I was thankful, for I did survive again.

15 Responses to “Running Out Of Saliva”


  1. 1 dxter August 11, 2007 at 12:14 am

    me neither. hate oral reporting. stage fright. hehe. pero im getting quite used to it na. hehe. [ngaun pa 4th yr na! haha]

  2. 2 dxter August 11, 2007 at 12:15 am

    nyay hate reporting din congratz u made it.

  3. 3 Jhed August 11, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Waaaah! Ganyan din ako, natutuyo ang laway kapag nagsasalita sa harap ng maraming tao. Tapos, lagi pa ako nagii-stutter lalo na kapag English ang vernacular na ginagamit ko.

  4. 4 tina August 11, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    pag di ko kilala ang audience ko… kinakabahan ako. pero syempre now that im in my 4th year… di na ako kinakabahan kasi naman.. kilala ko na sila.

    pag boring ang report.. i dont pay attention.. pero pag interesting.. ibang usapan yun. hihi.

    pero that’s okay…. improve lang.. and face whatever it is you fear. i used to fear speaking in front… but i have to face it. ;p

  5. 5 Arnel August 11, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    dxter – wahaha, yep stage fright lol.

    Jhed – nalimutan kong sabihin yun ah, parehas din tayo. nag-iistutter din ako. hindi lang pala ako ang may ganitong problema. hahaha.

    tina – well, ako rin. i have to face it or else i’ll fail.

  6. 6 Skye August 13, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I hate public speaking.. well those formal things in Comm 3. But health teachings in the community are okay! I’m “naturally” shy. (God, I can’t believe I said that. I’m such a liar.) Haha!

  7. 7 xienah August 15, 2007 at 10:25 am

    gusto ko yung nagsasalita.
    madaldal ako.
    sabi ko na nga ba–
    ayos lang talaga sa akin
    ang magreport.

    dear.
    ano ba?
    may new site ka na pala.
    musta naman?
    ganun ba ako katagal
    na hindi nakapadpad doon.🙂

  8. 8 Jigs August 16, 2007 at 2:58 am

    I love public speaking or delivering speeches and reports. Still do feel the butterflies everytime I’m about to speak in front of people. It can’t be helped. You just have to do it and try not to bore your audience.

    Once you get the hang of it, it’s definitely lots of fun!🙂

  9. 9 ikay August 16, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    when it comes to speech.. or anything related to that, asahan mo na badtrip ako. bobo ako sa english e. haha.

    anu ba.. lumipat ka din pala.😛

  10. 10 Arnel August 16, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    Skye – yes, the dreadful extemporaneous speaking in Comm 3.

    Jigs – I hope I’ll love it soon, real soon.

    ikay – wahahaha, of course. trend eh. LOL.😉

  11. 11 Shari August 17, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    I’ve always hated speaking in front of many people. Same here, same here. You can make me act, sing, and even dance in front of a crowd, but speak? Let’s just say I’ll talk nonsense. Even with a kodigo in front of me. :p

  12. 12 alyanna jean August 17, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    You’re a survivor! HAHA.
    I kinda loath and love reportings. ^^
    Di ako makapagcomment dun sa susunod na entry. Ahww.
    I missed reading your entries kuya. ^^

    take care always and God bless.

  13. 13 pam August 17, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    closed ata yung comments sa post sa taas? oh ako lang ang hindi makapag-comment? hehe.😀 well, happy blogging anniv.😉

  14. 14 Arnel August 19, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    Shari – well, haha me too. i could do anything in front of masses but speak LOL.

    alyanna & pam – closed nga yung commenting sa latest post.😉 thanks by the way.😀


  1. 1 Voice Without Poise « Zantetsuken Trackback on October 12, 2007 at 4:47 pm

Leave a Reply

Zantetsuken

Him

He is a typical 17 year-old guy currently in his second year studying BS-Occupational Therapy in UP Manila, who still finds time to do things such as this nonsense. He simply stares blankly at space whenever he thinks of a new blog entry, so do not dare ask him how he came up with them anymore. (more..)

RSS Stalk Him.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rendezvous

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Unexpected

  • 15,835 trespassers

