Having a Laugh Affair

I have been receiving tons of jokes and other kinds of humorous messages lately. From simple jokes to pickup lines to dialogues to famous Inday nosebleed quotes and jokes, you name it. It has been spreading like a disease up until recently. I do not know too, if it is just coincidental, but my recent speech (extemporaneous) in Comm3 was also about humor. Well, I opted to choose it anyway.

But really, what’s with my ‘laugh’life right now?

Humor is always involved in my everyday activities; I see to it that no day leaves me without even just a smile in my face. I love to laugh. Or so in fact, I live to laugh. Crack a joke, miss a step off the stairs, or even perhaps, laugh alone – most of these things may sound funny, but yes THEY MAKE YOU FUNNY. Literally. Living with my blockmates for almost half a day at school may be boring but thanks to a little laugh, we manage to survive the harsh elements that the environment offers us. Using precious break times for laughtrips, sometimes even I myself doubt if someone from the campus has been calling the Psychiatric Ward of the Philippine General Hospital for our casualties. I do not know if I should be proud, but I am one of their top ten candidates. Hah.

As days pass by, we improve in cracking jokes and having chuckles from time to time. Our block has made use of humor as an instrument in bonding moments, may it be dramatic or not. It keeps us together, (especially the boys) and strengthens us in a way. In the two years that I have spent with them, I guess it is just appropriate to say that I have improved my personality. Events have happened so fast, it’s like catching lightning in a bottle. A once simple life has become soupified. Sinabawang gulay. That’s why humor will never be out of me, my alter ego, or even my split personality whatsoever. I have been living with it for years now. It has been my weapon that will always stay at the back of my head. I may not have special talents and skills or even superpowers, I know it will be just enough for me to face every sunrise that I could. Just like what Mary Hirsh said, humor is a rubber sword – it allows you to make a point without drawing blood.

How about you? How’s your ‘laugh’life lately?

‘strange-but-true’via:

Tablecloths were originally meant to be served as towels with which dinner guests could wipe their hands and faces after eating.

21 Responses to “Having a Laugh Affair”


  1. 1 Dan Hellbound October 17, 2007 at 12:28 am

    Actually, I just laugh loudly occasionally. Of course, it depends on what I’m laughing at.

    My college barkada now has exposed me to lots of things that really tickle my funny bones. An example? HARDUGEH! Mwahaha. Funny stuff, indeed.

    As with your question… It’s kind of “blooming” now. I never laugh out as often as I used to in the past. I always have this solemn look on my face, you’ll think I’m a 30+ priest. Lol. And sometimes, I laugh with no reason at all. Sometimes, I would laugh and then just stop like nothing funny has taken place. Haha. Insane? Probably.

  2. 2 kaila October 17, 2007 at 7:18 am

    Haha, I do that too. I try my best to spend my days with funny moments (w/blockmates and friends XD)

    I love INDAY and her wtf English vocabulary… hahaha.πŸ˜„

  3. 3 xienahgirl October 17, 2007 at 9:55 am

    ikaw talaga dear.
    parang nung isang araw
    yan pinaguusapan natin ah?
    ayeeee.

    ikaw talaga–
    di ko alam na
    gagawin mong entry yun.
    hahaha

  4. 4 abram October 17, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    ahehe… masarap tlga mag joke at majoke-an… its one way of releaving yourself from stress and boredom ika nga.. hahaa..

    Justin P.’s qoutable joke:

    anu ang isang sumasabog?

    BANG! us….

    ahehehe… CURNY! :))

  5. 5 abram October 17, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    correction… typo… isang = isda

  6. 6 Arnel October 17, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    Dan Hellbound – HARDUGEH rooooooocks. LOL.

    kaila – why yes, we even use inday’s vocab when we speak.πŸ˜›

    xienahgirl – dear naman, haha. tagal na to sa drafts ko. ngayon ko lang nilabas.

    abram – lol napaisip ako nung ‘isang’ lang. isda pala.πŸ˜„

  7. 7 pam October 17, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    oh god. i dont have a ‘laugh life’ right now. hahaha.πŸ˜€ once it is friday already, then it’ll start. gosh. such a stressful sem.😦

    pero the best laughs are the ones shared with friends and family.πŸ˜„

  8. 8 aya October 17, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    haha, lagi din kaming nagbibiruan ng blockmates ko. araw araw, hindi na nawala yan. nakakapagpalubag loob. *tama ba yung tagalog? haha.

  9. 9 Anna October 17, 2007 at 8:07 pm

    Hey! You’re not alone. I do laugh by myself once in a while, making me receive weird looks and grins from people I don’t really know.

    Well, My “laugh”life’s great! haha!! Maybe because the sem finally ended. Wee!

  10. 10 Arnel October 17, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    pam – haha, oo nga eh. why yes, even the family is a good source of jokes.

    aya – oo tama.πŸ˜‰

    Anna – I do not laugh by myself. I have my friend to laugh with me.πŸ˜›

  11. 11 dxter October 17, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    ako mababaw lang din ang kaligyahan mo hehe. pag ako tumawa minsan, ligaya talaga sa galak. πŸ˜€ pero siyempre minsan pag mood swings, di mo talaga ko mkktang tumawa kahit smile man lang. weirdu…..

  12. 12 ellie m. October 18, 2007 at 10:25 am

    wha-haaaaaaaaaaaaaat? really?

    shucks. ngayon lang talaga ako nakakatawa uli.

    next sem, pilit na naman yan.

  13. 13 Lionheart October 18, 2007 at 12:09 pm

    HeheπŸ™‚

    Inday and Ederlyn qoutes marami akong natatago… HeheπŸ™‚

  14. 14 Arnel October 18, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    dxter – haha, todo rin talaga ko tumawa pero pag wala, wala talaga.πŸ˜„

    ellie m. – yeah. haha. try to do it once in a while, mawawala stress mo.

    Lionheart – pasend naman ako.πŸ˜›

  15. 15 Talamasca October 18, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    My brand of humor borders around sarcasm to witty retorts to mindless violence, stuff like that. So crack a joke that involves such and I’ll make you my best friend forever! I know I’m disgusting. Sue me.

    And speaking of suing, I’d like to sue you for copying my Panic at the Desktop title. Expect my lawyer to come knocking at your door any minute now ktnxbai. ;-p

  16. 16 kingdaddyrich October 18, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    madalang ako tumawa kahit mababaw lang ang kaligayahan ko…

    pero mas nakakatuwa kung napapaligaya mo ang mga tao sa paligid mo..
    πŸ˜‰

    agree?

    nga po pala sir na ilink na po kita, sana ilink mo na rin ako. sa uulitin!!πŸ˜‰

  17. 17 Arnel October 18, 2007 at 7:11 pm

    Talamasca – HAHAHA. i guess we’ll be goooooooooood friends, then? but how about the suing issue?πŸ˜›

    kingdaddyrich – definitely agree. nalink na rin kita, pero wag mo na ko tawagin sir haha.πŸ˜€

  18. 18 eric October 18, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    as i have read in the sep 07 issue of Reader’s Digest, laughing has its own therapeutic benefits, and is even used to fight stress. whatever you do, never cease to add some humor to spice it and live every day of your life happily. it wouldn’t hurt because yes, as what hirsh said, humor is nothing but just a rubber sword.πŸ™‚

  19. 19 Jed October 18, 2007 at 9:12 pm

    never has it occurred to me that a day will pass without me blurting a laugh. each one of us love to laugh, at kng sino man ang di pa tumatawa ever sa kanilang buhay eh… abnormal.

    nakakabata ang palaging pagtawa. yan ang laging sinasabi sa akin ng aking lola. ewan ko lang kung totoo.

  20. 20 Christian October 19, 2007 at 6:52 am

    My blockmates are boring. They don’t make me laugh as hard as my high school classmates. Back in high school, we laugh at so much things, even those things that won’t trigger a normal person to laugh. That’s how insane we were.

    You took a speech class, hu? Me either. I enjoyed it. Our finals was an extempo speech, a demo speech to be exactly. I think I did good, but you see, it’s really easy to do badly. Haay. Sana naman ayos lang ang speech ko.

  21. 21 donyaquixote October 19, 2007 at 11:35 am

    My laugh life revolves around stupid youtube videos.

    Recommendations: check out “Mysterious Ticking Noise” with the Potter Puppet Pals. Genius, I tell you.

    [BTW: I’M BACK!]


Leave a Reply

Zantetsuken

Him

He is a typical 17 year-old guy currently in his second year studying BS-Occupational Therapy in UP Manila, who still finds time to do things such as this nonsense. He simply stares blankly at space whenever he thinks of a new blog entry, so do not dare ask him how he came up with them anymore. (more..)

RSS Stalk Him.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rendezvous

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Unexpected

  • 15,835 trespassers

