Voice Without Poise

I knew it. I am not meant for public speaking. I will never be able to fight stage fright. I never had, and never will have the guts. How I wish I did.

Just this week, I almost got the hang of Running Out Of Saliva, thanks to the speeches (impromptu and extemporaneous) that we had to well, deliver for the sake of our grades in Comm3. Oh, when combined, their weight in terms of percentage is more than the exams, mind you.

Impromptu was on Monday, Extemporaneous speaking on Thursday. That single fact of having to deliver two very important speeches in just a three day interval immediately sent shivers down my spine. Looks like it’s going to be quite a long week. And when I say it’s long, it’s going to be THAT long.

Speaking in front of twenty four people for just four to six minutes whom you know may seem easy, but discussing your viewpoints is like spending four to six hours in hell for me instead. The minute I stood up to talk in both cases, suddenly all of my sweat glands were perspiring drastically, thus proving that I was nervous. My heart beat could almost reach that of the Amethyst Woodstar Hummingbird out of my nervousness. (Still, you know I am just exaggerating, yes?) My mouth dries up, my voice falters, and my thoughts fail me for the nth time around. Even though I did manage to pull myself together gradually, I know I could do better. But, I just can’t. Again, how I wish I could.

I was second in the first batch to deliver in the impromptu speech, wherein as what I have told you in a not so recent entry, I do not trust what I say because I need more time. As we all know, this speech is well, delivered on the spot. You pick a topic from Pandora’s box, you take note of it, go outside, dig deep into your cerebral cortex and develop what you think is a sensible paragraph out of your thoughts while waiting for your turn. Since I do take a long time rambling through my thoughts, I wasn’t able to elaborate much about my topic, thus making my speech undertime. What does it mean? Deduction. Thankfully though, I still got a 1.5 despite of the minus. Hoo-ray.

In the extempo, I was supposed to be the third to speak in the second batch, though it turned out that I was second again due to a problem of the supposedly second speaker in her dress. We were supposed to wear a formal attire, and.. I don’t want to expound the story here. I’m here to emote about my speech, anyway. So let’s go on. Just as what I did in the impromptu (my professor told me so for the impromptu), I had a well developed entrance. A good sign? Not. Ten seconds of my precious time in front were wasted just because I was thinking of the follow up to the introduction. Bullcrap. Then, almost everything got ruined. Almost. At least I was able to end it well, and I did reach the time limit.

Once I (hopefully) finish Comm3, goodbye stage fright, goodbye. No more speeches, at least for me.

I just hope that good, if not high grades still await me after all that dillydallying in front of the class. What I do know, is that I am (relatively) far better at writing than speaking. 😉

‘Free’via: (In this blog’s terminology, it stands for free trivia; this will be included in selected posts starting now, and will be alternating with ‘strange-but-true’via in the coming days.)

According to a British law passed in 1845, attempting to commit suicide was a capital offense. Offenders could be hanged for trying.

18 Responses to “Voice Without Poise”


  1. 1 Padre Salvi October 12, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    hinding hindi ako kukuha ng comm 3. promise!

  2. 2 Arnel October 12, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Padre Salvi – haha, ayaw mo rin ng public speaking? lulz.

  3. 3 Yom October 12, 2007 at 10:21 pm

    I love public speaking. Hehe. Sobra. Gusto ko pa nga ulitin ang Comm 3 experience. Under Sir Burn and no one else. Gusto ko pa rin mag-speech nang mag-speech. 😀

    Second speaker din ako sa Extemporaneous, tapos second speaker din sa Impromptu. Pero dun sa Extempo, na-late ako kaya sa second batch na ako sinama. Fortunately, ang bait ni Sir Burn. Haha. 😀

    Btw, who’s your Comm 3? 😀

  4. 4 tina October 12, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    sino bang hindi kakabahan sa mga ganyan? sabi nang iba … ma overcome mo daw ang mga fear of public speaking pag lagi mong gawin yan… 😛 hehehe…

  5. 5 Janinny October 13, 2007 at 11:00 am

    hey you luvahboy! whatever happened to your image? hehe Im thinking of transfering to wordpress myself. should i or should i not? that is the question. 🙂 and yes, i’m trying hard to be back. so keep visiting, okie? yay! 😀

  6. 6 keekee October 13, 2007 at 11:01 am

    oops i didn’t change the name! haha. that was me, Keekee, janiny whichever. I have soo many names. 🙂 take care, floo.

  7. 7 Agent Grey October 13, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    I don’t like public speaking but hell I wanna do it. I want to conquer my stage fright, that’s how I wanna challenge myself.

  8. 8 Arnel October 13, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Yom – hahahaha, what a coincidence. lol. kay mam adeva ako. at finals na namin sa monday!

    tina – well, ako ayoko na siguro ulitin. 😛

    keekee/janinny – LOL. haha. your blog looks nice in blogspot the way i see it, but still it’s up to you. take care too. 😉

    Agent Grey – really, camera shy ka nga eh. haha.

  9. 9 YNA October 13, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Comm3? Well, we have Speech Communication in eLBi. Share. Haha 😛

    Anyway, I also delivered my speech last Thursday. And God, wasn’t I trembling. Really, I know how it’s like to deliver a speech in front of all those people (In my case, it’s more than 30.).

    But knowing that I still have Speech Communication 101-107 to take for the whole of my college? *shivers*

  10. 10 aya October 14, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    haha, ako rin takot sa public speaking.
    MATH na lang. 😛

  11. 11 Arnel October 14, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    YNA – it’s not gonna be easy, but i know you can do it! sure you have tens of speeches but you’ll get used to it. i guess it’s just me.

    aya – LOOOOOOOOOOL.

  12. 12 blanca October 16, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    salamat! ^_^

    waaa… kinakabahan 2loy aq mag com3 T_T weeewww

    plagi kitang nakikita sa lyb ah… ehehe

  13. 13 Arnel October 16, 2007 at 7:17 pm

    blanca – buti ka pa nga nakikita mo ko eh ikaw di kita mamukhaan. haha.

  14. 14 eric October 18, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    just practice. its not all the time that you’ll have stage fright. the silver lining is just waiting for you to see it. have confidence always whenever you face the public. that’ll make a good start.

  15. 15 audra December 17, 2007 at 9:55 am

    I had bad extremely bad credit and no hope of getting any kind of loan. But I learned that I can apply for a secured credit card to rebuild it. I also found a co-signer and applied for a cosigner credit card which is bound to increase my credit rating. The ideas and credit card applications were found at a reliable web site on personal finance called

    0% balance transfer credit card to consolidate discover chase best buy

  16. 16 angella December 17, 2007 at 9:56 am

    Different people say different things about the number of credit cards one should have. I still can not figure out whether I should get another credit card (I already have 3 with a credit line of about $10 000). Should I get one more? I am considering applying for a credit at

    discover application no instant approval


  1. 1 relationship tumblr Trackback on June 19, 2014 at 2:39 am
  2. 2 sco.lt Trackback on June 19, 2014 at 2:41 am

Leave a comment




Zantetsuken

Him

He is a typical 17 year-old guy currently in his second year studying BS-Occupational Therapy in UP Manila, who still finds time to do things such as this nonsense. He simply stares blankly at space whenever he thinks of a new blog entry, so do not dare ask him how he came up with them anymore. (more..)

RSS Stalk Him.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Rendezvous

October 2007
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Unexpected

  • 16,016 trespassers